Finding True Contentment

Contentment- Most women struggle with that more than anything, I believe it is one of the strongholds Satan uses on us here in America.  I did not realize how much of a problem it was until I went to India and then returned home. In India and many third world countries they struggle with not having enough food, we struggle with having too much food, they are content with having one or two sets of clothes and shoes, while we have sometimes 2-3 full wardrobes (winter and summer clothes) and yet we still buy more.  Why is it this way in America? Why aren’t we content with the many things we have compared to other countries lack of?  We set ourselves up for failure with all the advertising we are bombarded with.  It is geared towards making us discontent with what we have and wanting more, they bank on it literally.  What would happen to the retail business if we were content with what we had, or the banks if we only bought what we had money for and did not use credit?  They would fail.  The reality is that we really don’t need it but want it.

I think we as women can deal with discontentment often if we are not careful.  For me it hits when I realize our month outlasts our money and there seems to be no hope for change, or when I hear that someone gets that wood floor I have been coveting for over a year, or when I feel that I am missing out on life by being home with my kids.  How about you?  Is it sin? Lets take a look at God’s word and see:

Exodus 20:17 You shall not covet your neighbor’s house. You shall not covet your neighbor’s wife, or his manservant or maidservant, his ox or donkey, or anything that belongs to your neighbor.”

Hebrews 13:5-6 Keep your lives free from the love of money and be content with what you have, because God has said, “Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you.” So we say with confidence, “The Lord is my helper; I will not be afraid. What can man do to me?”

James 14:1-3 What causes fights and quarrels among you? Don’t they come from your desires that battle within you? You want something but don’t get it. You kill and covet, but you cannot have what you want. You quarrel and fight. You do not have, because you do not ask God. When you ask, you do not receive, because you ask with wrong motives, that you may spend what you get on your pleasures.

God’s Word says it is sin when we covet and envy what the “Jones” have.  Not to mention it attacking our husband’s sense of self worth when we always want more.

So how can we refocus our thoughts and find contentment in what we have? By Focusing on what really matters:

  1. What am I living for?-Am I living for the things of this world or eternal things?We have to remember that this is not our home-ETERNITY WITH GOD IS
  2. What am I here for? Where am I spending my time, what am I passionate about? We need to be making a difference in ways that last.
  3. What is my hearts desire for my children? Do I care more about my children’s financial success or spiritual success. My desire is to raise kids who know and serve God, who in turn raise their children to do the same.  What about you?   (For help on that go to www.ONEMILLIONARROWS.com)

This life can be hard and at times we feel at the end of our rope. Trust me, when we focus on those three things all earthly things pale in comparison.  Some of you have given up the nicer home, car and career for the privilege of being home with your kids.  Yes, you did hear me right, PRIVILEGE to influence your children’s life each day for eternity.  Some of you envy those who stay home,  instead you need to make the most of where God has you and the time you have for your kids.  Be purposeful in influencing your kids for Christ.  You are their best mentor, and as such you must not only teach them the truth, but train then in it (every day life situations) and live it yourself (proof).  The time will be gone before your know it, this time will pass and what you teach them now will last. So trust me when discontentment creeps in, when the TV advertises things you have to have or so you think, or the bank offers incredible deals on loans or credit card rates, REFOCUS on the ETERNITY, count your blessings and see what God does in your heart and life.  He does promise to give you your hearts desire when you trust him.  Remember IF HE DID NOT MEET IT YOU DID NOT NEED IT.

Philippians 4:11-13 I am not saying this because I am in need, for I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances. I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. I can do everything through him who gives me strength.

1 Timothy 6:6-8 But godliness with contentment is great gain. For we brought nothing into the world, and we can take nothing out of it. But if we have food and clothing, we will be content with that.

What is true contentment? Just look at a baby who sleeps peacefully after nursing from mom.  The baby has total faith that mom will fill her every need, so she rests in peace.  Do you trust God that way? When you do you will find contentment. Not the temporary earthly contentment that never lasts but TRUE CONTENTMENT.

Proverbs 19:23
The fear of the LORD leads to life: Then one rests
content, untouched by trouble

God Bless, Luiselblog11

One Response to “Finding True Contentment”

  1. Ace Says:

    Great post Luisel. I know I often need the reminder to step away from all the ‘offers’ and supposed needs this world has to offer and just live in contentment in Him and what he has already provided for me.

    Like

Leave a comment